Skip to main content

English, Language Arts, and Reading

English, Language Arts, and Reading

The English/Language Arts (ELA) team assists clients in developing and implementing a successful ELA K-12 curriculum that is research-based and aligned with state and federal mandates.

Services include:

  • Reading Academies
  • Kindergarten - Grade 2 professional development and services are available in the following areas:
    • Small group instruction
    • Literacy centers
    • Assessment/monitoring progress
    • Reading comprehension
    • Texas Primary Reading Inventory and Fluency Probe - TPRI
    • Vocabulary development
    • Dynamic Indicators of Basic Early Literacy Skills - DIBELS
    • Word analysis
    • ELAR TEKS Training
    • Fluency development
  • Grades 3-12 professional development and services are available in the following areas:
    • STAAR reading • writing
    • STAAR writing • evaluating student performance
    • STAAR open ended response
    • Co-teaching
    • Reading comprehension
    • Struggling reader strategies
    • Content area reading
    • Struggling writer strategies
    • Small group instruction and literacy stations
    • Vocabulary development
    • Word study
    • Fluency
    • Advanced placement
    • Strategies for struggling diverse learners
    • Reading interventions
    • Texas Adolescent Literacy Academies - TALA
    • ELAR TEKS Training
    • Texas Middle School Fluency Assessment – TMSFA

ELAR Contacts

Christy George
Program Assistant
cgeorge@esc5.net
(409) 951-1797

Susan Cooper
Reading Specialist
Elementary ELAR
scooper@esc5.net
(409) 951-1761

Jennifer Robertson
Program Coordinator
Secondary ELAR
jrobertson@esc5.net
(409) 951-1785

Reading Academy Contacts

Angie Touchstone
Administrative Assistant
atouchstone@esc5.net
(409) 951-1711

Jennifer Whitehead
Reading Specialist
Authorized Provider Manager
jwhitehead@esc5.net
(409) 951-1726

Susan Cooper
Reading Specialist
Authorized Provider Manager
scooper@esc5.net
(409) 951-1761

Kim Adams
Reading Specialist
Cohort Leader
kadams@esc5.net